Skip To Main Content

Buckheit Educational Leadership Series

Buckheit Educational Leadership Event 2024: 
Christopher L. Eisgruber, President, Princeton University

On January 9, 2024 we welcomed President Eisgruber for a lively conversation about trending issues in education and what's currently going on at college campuses.

About Christopher L. Eisgruber

Princeton University's 20th president since July 2013, President Eisgruber has led efforts to increase the representation of low-income and first-generation students at Princeton and other colleges and universities. Princeton's socioeconomic diversity initiatives have attracted national attention from The New York Times, the Washington Post, 60 Minutes and other news outlets. Eisgruber has also been a leading voice in Washington and elsewhere for the value of research and liberal arts education. He has emphasized the importance of both free speech and inclusivity to Princeton's mission; championed the University's commitment to service; and launched initiatives designed to fortify Princeton's connections to the innovation ecosystem in New Jersey and beyond. 

Eisgruber received his A.B. in physics from Princeton in 1983, graduating magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa. He then earned an M.Litt in politics at the University of Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar, and a J.D. cum laude at the University of Chicago Law School, where he served as editor-in-chief of the law review. After clerking for U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Patrick Higginbotham and U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens, he taught at New York University's School of Law for 11 years. In 2001, Eisgruber joined the Princeton Faculty, becoming provost in 2004 and president in 2013.


What is the Buckheit Series?

The Buckheit Educational Leadership Series honors Vistamar School’s founding Head of School, Jim Buckheit, and explores issues in education and adolescent development of interest to the greater Los Angeles community. The Buckheit Educational Leadership Series is open to all members of the Vistamar community, as well as interested members of the public.

Past Buckheit Speakers

2023 - G. Gabrielle Starr - President - Pomona College

2022 - Ravi S. Rajan - President - California Institute of the Arts

2021 - Valerie Smith - President - Swarthmore College

2019 - Christina Paxson - President - Brown University

2017 - Dr. Timothy Law Snyder - President - Loyola Marymount University

2016 - Dr. Adam S. Weinberg – President – Denison University

2015 - Rock Jones – President – Ohio Wesleyan University

2014 - Maria Klawe – President – Harvey Mudd College

2013 - Jonathan Veitch – President – Occidental College

2012 - Gene Block – Chancellor – UCLA

2011 - Shirley Tilghman – President – Princeton University

2010 - Steven Levine - President - CalArts